January 27, 2022 – BC, YT, NT

12:30pm – 5:00pm EST
(9:30am – 2:00pm PST)

January 28, 2022, – AB, SK, MB

12:30pm – 5:00pm EST
(10:30am – 3:00pm MST)

February 4, 2022 – ON

12:30pm – 5:00pm EST

February 7, 2022 – QC, NS/NF, NB/PEI

11:00am – 3:30pm EST
(12:00pm – 4:30pm AST)

February 8, 2022 – YT, (Modern Treaties, Self-Government)

12:30pm-5:00pm EST
(10:30am-3:00pm MST)

Regional Engagement Sessions

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is hosting virtual Regional Engagement Sessions on the development of a new First Nations Languages Funding Model. Join us to provide integral feedback to the development of the new Funding Model, that with your input, will better support the needs of First Nations.

Save the Date Registration Form Online Registration

About the Regional Engagements

  • The Regional Engagement Sessions provide an opportunity for First Nations across the country to share feedback and insights for the development of a new First Nations Languages Funding Model that better supports the needs of First Nations and First Nations languages.
  • The AFN will present on a draft First Nations Languages Funding Model and host virtual regional engagement sessions to support discussions and receive feedback for the development of a new Funding Model.

Who should attend?

  • Chiefs and Councillors, Elders/Knowledge Keepers, First Nations language speakers, Language Champions, Linguists, Education administrators and culture and language administrators

The Regional Engagements topics will include:

  • Presentation on the Funding Model
  • Breakout Sessions on the Funding Model
  • Summaries of Group Discussions

Agenda Overview:

Time Activity
12:30pm

Opening

    • Welcome and Opening Remarks
    • Opening Prayer
12:45pm

Presentation on the First Nations Languages Funding Model, AFN

    • QA and Discussion
1:45pm Breakout Session 1
2:30pm Plenary
2:45pm Break
3:00pm Breakout Session 2
3:45pm Plenary
3:55pm
Breakout Session 3
4:40pm
Plenary
4:50pm
Final Remarks
5:00pm
Closing Prayer
Download Agenda

Contact Information:

Registration:

If you need assistance registering online, please contact our Registration Coordinator: Tash Cote at [email protected].

General:

For general information on the Languages Forum, contact us at [email protected]

Sid LeeLanguages Regional Engagement 2022