Assembly of First Nations and Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations to Host National Tobacco…

February 18, 2011

Assembly of First Nations and Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations to Host National Tobacco Forum

The Assembly of First Nations and the Federation of Saskatchewan Indians will host a national tobacco forum in Saskatoon, SK next week.

DATE:            February 22 – 24, 2011
LOCATION:    Delta Bessborough, Saskatoon, SK
TIME:            Feb 22 – 12:00 p.m; Feb 23 – 9:00 a.m; Feb 24 – 9:00 a.m.  

The three-day forum is focused on tobacco and First Nation health, showcasing promising community-based practices in tobacco prevention, cessation and control.  Panel discussions will include: health promotion, health education, health intervention and harm reduction, with an opportunity for First Nations to provide input that will inform the development of a First Nations Tobacco Strategy.  

Other highlights include a special presentation by Standing Buffalo First Nation Elder Larry McKay who will explain the traditional use of tobacco and will lead into a round dance demonstration.

Dr. Tom Calma – an Aboriginal Elder from the Kungarakan tribal group and a member of the Iwaidja tribal group in Australia will give the keynote address.  Dr. Calma was appointed Australia’s first Aboriginal National Coordinator for tackling Indigenous Smoking February 16, 2010.  He has been involved in Indigenous affairs at local, national and international levels and has worked in the public sector for 38 years. Dr. Calma was recently awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science from Curtin University in Australia.

The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada.  The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations represents 74 First Nations in Saskatchewan.

For more information please contact:

Don Kelly, AFN A/Communications Director (613) 241-6789 (334) or
Jenna Young, AFN Communications Officer (613) 241-6789 (401) or
Alain Garon, AFN Bilingual Communications Officer (613) 241-6789 (382) or

Assembly of First Nations