Assembly of First Nations and RBC Foundation Announce Heroes of Our Time Scholarship Recipients and Creation of the Elijah Harper Memorial Award

on November 19, 2014

(Ottawa, ON) November 7, 2014 – The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) and RBC Foundation are proud to announce the recipients of the 2014 Heroes of Our Time (HOOT) scholarships. The Heroes of Our Time scholarships are an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate the success of Aboriginal post-secondary students in achieving their educational goals.

RBC Foundation is also sponsoring a new scholarship to be awarded annually beginning in 2015: The Elijah Harper Memorial Award – CommerceThe Elijah Harper Memorial Award will be given annually to an applicant who has completed at least one year of post-secondary education in the field of commerce/business, who has demonstrated exceptional leadership abilities by championing the principles of consultation and collaboration, and has been involved and shown a commitment to extracurricular/volunteer activities.

“On behalf of the AFN, I congratulate all the winners of this year’s Heroes of Our Time scholarships,” said AFN Chief Executive Officer Peter Dinsdale. “It gives us great satisfaction to do our part to help those who represent the future of First Nations and of Canada.  Every year we receive many inquiries from students who want to participate in this process and the announcement of recipients has come to be highly anticipated by Aboriginal post-secondary students all around the country. We are very pleased this year to be part of the creation of the Elijah Harper Memorial Award and would like to thank the RBC Foundation for recognizing such an important leader by supporting and promoting First Nations education and students.” 

This year marks the 26th year of the HOOT scholarships. The HOOT scholarships originated in 1988 as an initiative to recognize the dedication, drive and academic achievements of Aboriginal post-secondary students who demonstrate excellence in their fields. 

“RBC is committed to helping to bridge the education gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous persons in Canada through impactful initiatives that support post-secondary education like the Heroes of Our Time scholarships,” said Annette Sabourin, Vice President Aboriginal Markets, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, NW Ontario and North of 60. “By introducing a new scholarship, we know each winner will strive to match the conviction and strength of character of Elijah Harper, and honour his legacy through their own commitment to personal growth through post-secondary education.”  

There are currently eight scholarship categories at $2,000.00 each. The winners of the 2014 Heroes of Our Time (HOOT) Scholarship are: 

  • Jake Fire Award – Criminology
    Ryan Gray-Brady – Hiawatha First Nation (ON) 
  • Tommy Prince Award – Native Studies
    Crystal Prince – Brokenhead Ojibway Nation (MB) 
  • Walter Dieter Award – Social Work
    Lindsay Dupre – Métis Nation of Ontario (Cree) (ON) 
  • Omer Peters Award – Political Science
    Chadwick Cowie – Hiawatha First Nation (ON) 
  • Robert Smallboy Award – Medicine
    Chantal McFetridge – Samish Indian Nation (BC) 
  • James Gosnell Award – Law
    Crystal Head – Nipissing First Nation (ON) 
  • John Young Award – Science
    Erin Fennell – Algonquin Nation Kijicho Manito (ON)

  • Dr. Freda Ahenakew Award – Education
    Dayton Hill – Oneida Nation of the Thames First Nation (ON)


    The Assembly of First Nation is the national organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada.  Follow #AFN on Twitter @AFN_Comms, @AFN_Updates.




    For more information please contact: 

    Alain Garon AFN Bilingual Communications Officer
    (613) 241-6789, ext. 382, (613) 292-0857 or [email protected]

    Assembly of First NationsAssembly of First Nations and RBC Foundation Announce Heroes of Our Time Scholarship Recipients and Creation of the Elijah Harper Memorial Award
    Assembly of First Nations