AFN National Chief Congratulates Newly Elected Nishnawbe Aski Nation Grand Chief

on November 19, 2012

August 16, 2012 (Ottawa, ON) – Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief Shawn A-in-chut Atleo today offered congratulations to newly elected Grand Chief of Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Harvey Yesno, elected yesterday afternoon at NAN’s 31st Keewaywin Chiefs Assembly held this year in Kashechewan First Nation.

“I offer congratulations to newly elected Nishnawbe Aski Nation Grand Chief Harvey Yesno and look forward to working with him, the NAN executive and NAN leadership to address priority areas in Treaty 9 and Treaty 5 territory,” said AFN National Chief Shawn Atleo. “I commend the commitment and dedication of Stan Beardy who has served as Nishnawbe Aski Nation Grand Chief since 2000, and who recently joined the national executive as AFN Regional Chief for Ontario.”

Grand Chief Harvey Yesno is from Eabametoong (Fort Hope) First Nation, where he served as Chief for five terms, councillor for one term and senior project management from 1977 to 1991. Guided by the objective of creating sustainable business and economic development sectors in the Aboriginal community, and the development of regional and community institutions to achieve self-determination, Grand Chief Yesno has worked in a number of different capacities at Nishnawbe Aski Nation/Grand Council Treaty 9, Chiefs of Ontario/Ontario First Nation Limited Partnership and the Assembly of First Nations. Also elected yesterday were Deputy Grand Chiefs Alvin Fiddler, Les Louttit and Goyce Kakegamic who will join Grand Chief Yesno on the NAN executive council, advocating on behalf of 49 First Nation communities in Ontario.

NAN Chiefs, representing the Ojibway, Cree and Ojicree of Treaty 9 and Treaty 5 territory will continue with their final day of Assembly in Kashechewan tomorrow. For more information visit

The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nations citizens in Canada. Follow @AFN_Updates, @AFN_Comms.

For more information please contact: Jenna Young AFN Communications Officer 613-241-6789, ext 401; 613-314-8157 or [email protected]

Assembly of First NationsAFN National Chief Congratulates Newly Elected Nishnawbe Aski Nation Grand Chief
Assembly of First Nations